Digital Literacy Common Core

This week we read about digital literacy and common core curriculum from kindergarten to senior year in high school. The readings weren’t entirely deep, but it was eye-opening to see what’s happening in schools around the country.

When I was in grade school, I don’t remember having to do digital presentations, or anything on the computer outside of learning home keys and playing Oregon Trail. After reading the common core curriculum for students in school, it was surprising to me that they were learning how to do online presentations and are learning different writing and creation programs online. For example, 4th graders are learning to analyze digital texts, and students throughout are learning to analyze credibility of online publications. I understand credibility was always emphasized, but I feel like students now have a tougher time sifting through garbage articles.

With that said, my 10 year old is learning coding in 4th grade, and it’s pretty amazing to see how easily he picks up basic things on a computer. Again, when I was his age I was more worried about shooting digital animals and crossing rivers.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started